Street Collected Euonymus

Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
My office neighbor here in downtown Toledo asked me to collect all his shubbery (A Euonymous - I think it's a dwarf of alatus but, I'm not sure - and three boxwoods). This may belong in several threads, so forgive me if this is a forum faux pas. Anyone got good beginner advice for helping the Euonymous settle in well, and live happily? I've been noticing them here for three years or so since I arrived from Florida, and the striking fall colors were too enticing to pass up once the offer was made. I collected it following a good rain, during a random winter warm spell. (Base is perhaps 1.5-2 inches in diameter). I didn't mess with the roots much and potted it in the soil it was collected with. I figure it was happy there, so why mess with it while the tree is getting used to the potted life. I trimmed branches back to about 30 inches above the ground, trying to leave a lot of growth nodes. It's mostly been garage kept for the last three weeks or so. I think I should probably protect it until the Ohio nights get a bit reliably warmer.

Any advice for giving this baby the best chance at happiness?

Attachments

• IMG_20180219_184849250.jpg
    IMG_20180219_184849250.jpg
    245.1 KB · Views: 80

cbroad

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
One thing I'd say is field soil in a pot is not a good thing, it's going to compact too much and really affect gas exchange with the atmosphere (as water drains, it pulls oxygen into the root zone). You'll end up with an anaerobic soil and the plant's roots will slowly suffocate. You probably have time before the plant comes out of dormancy to repot into a more suitable soil, whether it's a bonsai aggregate or regular potting soil.

Good luck though, I love burning bush!

cbroad

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a