Styling a collected Crepe Myrtle

Xanthe93

Seed
Reaction score
hi, I'm quite new to bonsai but i read enough to know collecting trees is usually a good starting point so i went and collected a 10yr old crepe myrtle (it was there when we moved into the house so its probably even older) It has several old 'stumps' where my mother has repeatedly cut it down as it was in a very inconvenient spot so i had her permission to dig it up.

The problem was that the majority of the tree was underground and so the roots are quite thick and twisted around as it was growing in very heavy clay soils. Is it worth trying to bonsai this monster and what can i do to the roots to put it in a bonsai pot? It is only just coming out of dormancy now (still winter in australia) It has some green/white fungus starting to form in the old stumps - any way to kill it?

i drew a concept of what i wanted the tree to look like but haven't seen any bonsai that have the stumps like that. Also do crepe myrtle branches fuse because the spindly branches on it atm don't look very good lol
thanks in advance!

http://i1298.photobucket.com/albums/ag52/xantheunwinart/bonsai2_zpsf716496f.jpg
http://i1298.photobucket.com/albums/ag52/xantheunwinart/cm2_zps78a40c1e.jpg
http://i1298.photobucket.com/albums/ag52/xantheunwinart/cm1_zps135877a2.jpg
http://i1298.photobucket.com/albums/ag52/xantheunwinart/cm3_zps3308cd86.jpg

will0911

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8/9
id say put more soil over all the roots. Is this your first tree? crape myrtles are relatively easy to care for and it should be fine as long as you add soil to cover the rest of those exposed roots. it has potential but right now it is about survival. what soil is it in btw?

Xanthe93

Seed
Reaction score