Styling advice for broom style Zelkova

MikeNickerson88

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Hey guys I just scored this nice zelkova at the Portland nursery today. As you can see in the photos below that it has a nice fat base with some nice taper to it. Last photo is my inspiration and direction I’d like to take this tree. What do you guys think? Any advice getting it to look more the photo is welcomed. I’m new to deciduous trees and broom style so and tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks photos won’t load correctly so I have to load them as a file unfortunately

Attachments

• 37291737-54D9-43D9-9D4C-8DD750EAF9DE.jpeg
    37291737-54D9-43D9-9D4C-8DD750EAF9DE.jpeg
    131 KB · Views: 87

SeanS

Omono
Reaction score
Johannesburg, South Africa (SOUTHERN HEMISPHERE)
USDA Zone
9b
Hey guys I just scored this nice zelkova at the Portland nursery today. As you can see in the photos below that it has a nice fat base with some nice taper to it. Last photo is my inspiration and direction I’d like to take this tree. What do you guys think? Any advice getting it to look more the photo is welcomed. I’m new to deciduous trees and broom style so and tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks photos won’t load correctly so I have to load them as a file unfortunately
Your inspiration tree is owned by @MACH5

Your starting material may not create an exact replica. Generally for formal broom style you need a dead straight trunk and radial, even nebari. You could go with a more informal natural looking broom, using the gentle movement in the trunk and replicating the movement in the branching

MikeNickerson88

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Your inspiration tree is owned by @MACH5