Styling help

Jimmy1020

Sapling
Reaction score
Hi there,I'm just wanting some help/pointers with this juniper piece as I'm new to bonsai.
Does the shape ,proportion look right?

Jimmy

Attachments

• 20200124_191207.jpg
    20200124_191207.jpg
    277.1 KB · Views: 43

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
What you've made looks a bit like a pine tree. If that was your objective, you done well. Aside from that I've been flailing at styling trees for the better part of a decade now and I still struggle.

When I fist looked at your tree, two things caught my attention.
  1. The upper part and most part of the trunk is very straight
  2. The branches have an inconsistent 'sag'
Real tree branches tend to have some irregularity, but generally the lower branches droop more than the upper ones. In other words, I expect to see lower branches hand 'way down' the next ones up not so much, and so on, until wer reach the apex where the branching may be very upward. If this were exact, the tree would be very conical and actually not very interesting (unless does to such an extreme degree that it was 'incredible' = formal upright style). Too many of your branches don't fit this expectation, so they become attention getting. But there are simply too many exceptions, so it seems a little messy. Not bad, just a few little adjustments here and there would take care of it.