Subalpine Fir (Abies lasiocarpa) progression

USDA Zone
6b
I collected this Subalpine Fir two years ago in New Mexico. It has thrived in its grow box and the time came to do the first styling / structural setting.
IMG_4014.JPG IMG_4087.JPG
At first, I thought this would be the front, because of the features:
fullsizeoutput_2169.jpeg
However, after evaluating it for best combination of base, trunk line and features, I settled on the opposite side:
fullsizeoutput_216a.jpeg
fullsizeoutput_2170.jpeg
The height is 35" from soil to apex.

USDA Zone
Great work @PiñonJ ! Well balanced layout. Do the crossing trunks, live and dead, bother you at all. It doesn’t for me, I’m just curious, as I’m no pro and I also think some others on here may be bothered by it. None the less, great start to a long term project!

What part of NM did you collect?

USDA Zone
6b
Great work @PiñonJ ! Well balanced layout. Do the crossing trunks, live and dead, bother you at all. It doesn’t for me, I’m just curious, as I’m no pro and I also think some others on here may be bothered by it. None the less, great start to a long term project!

What part of NM did you collect?
I think it adds interest to the tree. Since one is deadwood, I don’t feel it’s an issue. Certainly it’s a naturalistic style. I collected it in the Jemez.

USDA Zone
6b
What caharacteristics define a sub alpine vs a dougie, out of curiosity?