Suggestions for a bonsai from seed

Occams Hacksaw

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
Hello!

I'm new to bonsai but not gardening, so I think I can pull off starting some from seed.

If your zone was 9b and you wanted to grow your bonsai from seed, which ones would you choose and why? I am currently working on some Acer Rubrum in the fridge but with such conflicting information on germination, I'm skeptical whether they'll sprout or not. I've seen papers say that they germinate at a higher rate dried first with 30 (to 90) days of cold stratification. Another says only fresh seeds will sprout with Acer Rubrum and to never let them dry out.

Anyways.

What would experienced people start from seed in zone 9b?

Thanks for any input!

Rusty Davis

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Oh crap experienced people zone 9... That leaves me out but..

Bald Cypress (fast growth)
Crape Myrtle ( pretty flowers)

That's ones I would do.. and am doing in 5b

JBP I'm sure will come up

Eric Group

Masterpiece
Reaction score
From seed: Japanese Maple, Trident Maple, JBP, and Elm all should do OK in your area with reasonable protection from the harshest sun in the heat of summer... Natives will grow fine in your area for sure, but if you are growing for bonsai, use species that adapt well to being Bonsai. I thinking Cedar Elms are common in your part of the country? They make nice Bonsai...
There are probably hundreds of trees you could use...

The question is- are you sure you want to start from seed? You are just setting yourself up for a lonnnngggg wait! Even buying a few seedlings a couple years old would save you well.. a coupe, of years! The primary benefits of growing from seed is that you can grow a bunch of trees for a small amount of money, and as they grow you can shape them howevery you want because they are small enough to be wired easily.... if you get some seedling small enough to wire you save some time and still have control over development...