Super new to Bonsai

Lytnup70

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
I am very new to this and don't want to kill ANYTHING!! I purchased this Bullata Japanese Spiraea and within a week it's had leaves have all turned brown. Don't really know why? Online is no help other than saying don't over or under water this plant. Wife wants me just to buy a new one but I don't wanna give up on this plant. I did cut it back cause the interweb said it was basically a shrub and will grow back but...
So basically I'm asking....is it dead? And what did I do wrong?
Any help GREATLY appreciated!!!
Thank you in advance!

Attachments

• 20210611_202223.jpg
    20210611_202223.jpg
    175 KB · Views: 39
  • 20210626_070858.jpg
    20210626_070858.jpg
    271.2 KB · Views: 35

TinyArt

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hang in there -- sooner or later, someone who knows the species will look in.

Meanwhile, welcome!

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Yea I am not familiar with this species so I can't really help much.

Some questions that might help are: where was this tree kept? Did you keep this tree inside? How often did you water it? What kind of soil is it in?

Please put your location on your profile. A lot of bonsai information is location dependant and it would be nice if we don't have to continually ask.

Lytnup70

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Thank you Tinyart
And paradox
I live in Chicago
Plants kept on patio outside
Bought a small bag of Bonsai soil from local nursery...not much by me that has ANYTHING Bonsai
Typically submerge every Sunday in sink and spritz with water as needed

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Thank you Tinyart
And paradox
I live in Chicago
Plants kept on patio outside
Bought a small bag of Bonsai soil from local nursery...not much by me that has ANYTHING Bonsai
Typically submerge every Sunday in sink and spritz with water as needed