Superthrive: real deal or snake oil?

Lazylightningny

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
This has probably been discussed ad nauseum, but I wanted to get the opinion of current posters on whether or not this stuff has any real value, or if it's all smoke and mirrors. I'm new to bonsai this year, and I have been using it on my trees, but a quick google search on Superthrive brings up a lot of conflicting info.

What's the general consensus? Real Deal or Snake Oil?

Redwood Ryan

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7A
I use it, as it's been recommended to me by people in the bonsai business that I trust.

Excuse me while I go take cover now, I heard the can of worms being opened ;)

Smoke

Ignore-Amus
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Many prominent doctors say taking a daily vitamin supplement is not worth the money if you eat a balanced diet. Of course the One a Day people hope you continue to line their pockets.

I say use it if it makes you feel good.

cmeg1

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I used it before.Would you always want the extreme growth that it claims to give though?

Last edited:

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Ive heard of it and I know some people do use it. I dont use it myself mainly because there is such a differing opinion on how good it really is for the trees. I do use chemical fertilizers. I use 10-10-10 granular that I apply 2x a season. I also use miracle grow powder that you dissolve in water to feed my developing trees (which most my trees are) every 2 weeks or so from spring to early fall at 1/2 strength. I would probably use a bit less with more finished trees but I havent gotten to that stage yet. Ive heard of others using the same regimen and it was recommended to me by someone who has a reputable commercial bonsai nursery.

Last edited:

jkd2572

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone