Swamp White Oak: Cornfed Edition

cornfed

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
I'm going to start threads for my new trees to use as a progression journal. I'm very new to this, and will undoubtedly be learning from mistakes, so it'll be good to have a record of them.

Screenshot 2021-04-09 193854.png
First up is Quercus Bicolor, Swamp White Oak. I had 11 (free) yearlings in one-gallon nursery pots planted in 80% composted pine bark, and this was my favorite of the group.

20210409_151057.jpg
My goal for this tree is to thicken the trunk and develop the roots by repotting it in a larger, 5-gallon Rootmaker container with a more air-retentive soil. I realize I could plant it in the ground for maximum thickening, but I simply don't want to.

20210409_151737.jpg
This is what I found after knocking some soil off. It looked like it had been kept in the 4-inch container too long, as it had some thick roots circling around. Maybe why it was free.

20210409_152221.jpg
After trimming thicker and longer roots as well as roots going in bad directions.

20210409_152409.jpg
This is what I put in the soil. Now that I'm looking at the photo I think I should've taken more thick roots out. But at the time, I thought they might work in a design.

20210409_155022.jpg
On the bench.

I'm using a kitchen-sink blend as a substrate. I ultimately need 50+gallons of substrate to up-pot my newly acquired trees, so using up as much of the material I have recently purchased for my soil tests was beneficial. It's equal parts Sifted Pine Bark, Grit, Turface & Diatomaceous Earth (2-5mm) with a dash of Sphagnum Peat Fines. I tested the soil's mechanical properties at 29% Saturated Porosity (air-filled space), and 25% Field Capacity (water-filled space) after draining. Hopefully it will work, because conventional substrates are difficult to find. I added the fines back into the mix after sifting the