Taking trees from the wild

jI-tx

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi guys, first post!

I'm just getting into bonsai and I'm curious about taking trees from the wild. I live in east texas where it is really humid and we've got tons of pines. Do you have any recommendations on how to start? What size pine should I look for and do you have any recommendations on what resources I should look into for training the pines?

Also, what threads or resources should I be looking at on this site or elsewhere?

Thanks guys!

Vance Wood

Lord Mugo
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5-6
Hi guys, first post!

I'm just getting into bonsai and I'm curious about taking trees from the wild. I live in east texas where it is really humid and we've got tons of pines. Do you have any recommendations on how to start? What size pine should I look for and do you have any recommendations on what resources I should look into for training the pines?

Also, what threads or resources should I be looking at on this site or elsewhere?

Thanks guys!
The best thing you can do is to find a local club and get together with someone in that club with experience harvesting natural dwarf conifers and such. It's not like digging up a tree from the back yard. Lacking that option wait till someone else replies that knows your area and its problems.

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
First, try to identify your pines. Go on a few hikes with someone who knows the area, or with a solid plant ID book. Make sure you have the right permissions for collection and the right tools. Some areas are protected. I don't know the US but I've heard that people could shoot you if you tresspass on their property.
Also make sure that you can give the right after care. Get that stuff together in advance.
Then, it's a matter of being in the right season: fall or spring are best, if you're just starting this hobby, you want to stay in those seasons.