Taxus baccata (nursery stock)-Basic info

my nellie

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Hello everybody!

In view of our club's oncoming workshop with guest artist Peter Warren, I have bought a taxus as educational/demonstration material (branches selection & placement, height reduction, change of angle etc). This is my first attempt with this species.
As you suspect the soil is compacted organic material and the prospective good roots are hiding underneath....
The workshop is scheduled at the beginning of April and consequently the first big interventions on the tree.

So, I need your advice:
Do you think it is safe for the tree to undergo some minor root work and repotting in a decent substrate at present or perhaps some time after the workshop?
Or should I wait until the next season taking great care regarding the humidity in the current soil?

Thank you very much in advance!

Stan Kengai

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Ideally, you would want your tree to be well rooted and stabilized in the pot before working it. What you want to avoid is the tree rocking in the pot while you are styling it, which can damage tender new roots. I think it would be safer to wait on transplanting, or to chose another piece of material that is already established in good soil.

my nellie

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Thank you very much for your response, Stan.

october

Masterpiece
Reaction score
Hello My nellie...Although these trees are tough trees. It is always best to just do one thing per season. Meaning if major styling/pruning work is going to be done this season. You should wait a season to do any sort of root pruning. Whever a tree has major work done it is good for the tree to rest.

If you get a tree and it is not doing very well and poor soil is the suspect. Then a repot and root inspection should be first priority. Which means any sort of styling should be held off until the tree regains health.