teach me, master

It's Kev

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
20170321_173127.jpg wx_camera_1490103706968.jpg
So, I'm new to the whole bonsai culture, so new that I purchased a Japanese White Pine and it arrived in this week. It came already wired which is great and all, but I want to thicken up the trunk a bit. To add more to the fun, I haven't got a yard to plant it in.

The way it arrived it seemed set up for a cascade type style, which I don't want so I bent it back up. It seemed like wiring was done just before it was shipped and that's why I restyled it.

I really like this little tree and I hope someone could give some suggestions to growing and styling it properly.

Last edited by a moderator:

leatherback

The Treedeemer
Reaction score
USDA Zone
lol.

Lesson one. First ask. Wait for an answer. Then do.

(Personally, I prefer the original styling. Besides that, moving branches about too much, can cause serious harm & branch die off in some cases).

Welcome anyway, and congrats for not buying a million-a-dozen bellyfig.

It's Kev

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
lol.

Lesson one. First ask. Wait for an answer. Then do.

(Personally, I prefer the original styling. Besides that, moving branches about too much, can cause serious harm & branch die off in some cases).

Welcome anyway, and congrats for not buying a million-a-dozen bellyfig.
I took some cuttings from the ficus trees that grow all over the school, then I bought me a JWP and a little Juniper online this week.
So, should I carefully bend this guy down again, or rather not?

namnhi

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
I took some cuttings from the ficus trees that grow all over the school, then I bought me a JWP and a little Juniper online this week.
So, should I carefully bend this guy down again, or rather not?