terra cotta

GrimLore

Bonsai Nut alumnus... we miss you
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
I am no pro on the subject but it is my understanding that CEC values in soil from its' clay content is far different then a "fired" pot. To better explain that pot is "cooked" and I doubt there is any nutritional value left... ;)

Dav4

Drop Branch Murphy
Reaction score
SE MI- Bonsai'd for 12 years both MA and N GA
USDA Zone
6a
Would using a terra cottage pot increase overall CEC of a soil?

The Cation Exchange Capacity of your soil, as a whole, depends mainly on the CEC of its components. There've been a few threads on the subject, but if I remember correctly: organic materials have a relatively high CEC, clay aggregates like akadama or turface have a moderate CEC, and sand/grit/lava have relatively low CEC. A clay container, like terra cotta, might have a moderate (?) CEC, but I doubt it will effect that of the soil (except if you crush it up and mix it with your soil:D).

Stan Kengai

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Ever notice salt build up on terracotta or potting medium (lava and pine bark specifically). That's proof that those substances have (at least to some extent) properties that promote cation exchange.

nathanbs

Omono
Reaction score
Ever notice salt build up on terracotta or potting medium (lava and pine bark specifically). That's proof that those substances have (at least to some extent) properties that promote cation exchange.

this is a little over my head so I wont argue, but does this mean my cotton t-shirts have properties that promote CEC as they show sweat/salt stains in the summer?

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Stan, I think I would have to disagree with you here. The salt stains are due to the medium (terracotta, etc) absorbing the salt solution, with the water evaporating and leaving the (calcium, mostly) salts behind on the surface. That's wicking, not cation exchange.
Oliver Muscio

Stan Kengai

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a