The Conflict: Twin trunk Thuja second styling

Atom#28

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
Thank you for the video, I really love the movement of these trunks. Please excuse me for offering my read, especially because I am very new to bonsai.....but, respectfully, I gotta say: something about the daughter trunk doesn't feel "right". The drooping looping top looks cool, but it seems unnatural to my eye. I think my brain is asking: "Would a real tree in nature flip a 180 degree turn and start reaching straight for the ground?" I also wonder if the daughter tree is just too tall. It seems to have very little taper, if any, for most of the length of the trunk.

I'm gonna be brave and respectfully offer my suggestion. I may be WAY OFF, and I am definitely here to learn from all of you, but here's what I am thinking.
What would happen if you chopped the daughter down by about 2/3 of the current height? Maybe a nice jin on top? Sort of like this (Ignore the red line on my virt):

BEFORE:

AFTER:

All that negative space feels so much more dramatic, and natural. There's still conflict between mother and daughter. And it may even be more balanced

Atom#28

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
After the bold trunk chop, I would then start training the apex of the mother a bit like this. I basically just flipped the leftward-growing branch at the apex over to the right side to let the mother ease into that negative space a bit. BONUS: now there's a more triangular orientation of foliage (another virt attempt:)

BobbyLane

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score