The Flying Dragon

Mellow Mullet

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8-9
After the storms rolled through today, I managed to squeeze a little tree time in. I decided to work on a couple of Poncirus trifoliata "contorta", aka, the Flying Dragon, that I have been growing for several years. With a name like that, who wouldn't want one? These were grown from seed by my dad from the fruit of a tree that he has. It is interesting in that when growing from seed, about 60% percent of the seedlings are not contorted and the rest are. Working on these is not fun, the thorns are brutal! Wiring is painful and difficult. I mostly use clip and grow and guy wires.

Before:

DSC00149-1.jpg

A size comparison on the thorns.

DSC00150-1.jpg

After some clean up

DSC00154-1.jpg

After looking at it, I decided that the lowest branch needed to go. I was keeping it in hopes that it would help to thicken the lower trunk, but it wasn't. After taking it off, I wired the next branch down and over a little bit to fill the space.

DSC00155-1.jpg

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I just got a couple of these that are grafts. The grafts are pretty clean. I am excited about training them once they grow out a bit.

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
I had one of those! 2014-03-22 13.51.07.jpg
It only took me 3 years to kill it, but it was a thing of beauty (how I made it suffer).

Others left at the nursery where I bought it didn't survive as long as mine. So I have no idea what I did right/wrong or just what about my climate was so bad for it.

Anyway, I thought it would look great with exposed roots - neagari, I mean. And that was the end of it (it's roots were completely exposed when I discarded its carcass).

I just got a couple of these that are grafts. The grafts are pretty clean. I am excited about training them once they grow out a bit.
That seems odd. My understanding is that these are a common root stock for other citrus.

Last edited: