The Identification Thread....perhaps?

Woocash

Omono
Reaction score
Hi guys. Need an ID for your tree? I know I do. Fed up of recurring ID threads popping up, clogging up YOUR homepage? #Metoo.

Well, fret no more. If you need something identifying post it here and maybe some kindly person will come along to assist you and your curious mind. People do love to solve a mystery!

I’ll start :cool:

Please identify this Penstemon for me. Sorry...Pinestemon. Picked up at a garden centre, obviously labelled wrong but I paid a tenner so not bad I’d say. I think it’s possibly a Mugo of some sort, but I’m a complete novice with pines. It has 2 needles in a cluster. Thanks.
BBA947D5-5CB1-4E4C-8C6A-F9DAE8ACC355.jpeg
DD4845B2-DD76-428A-A3A5-673774830E6E.jpegA0D3C395-ACF0-4FF6-8C87-0E093590FD21.jpegFA2EEC56-D00B-402F-A430-B9273A7C13A3.jpegB9C96F33-D67A-4914-B939-D403F7301659.jpegB421B99D-ED28-48A8-9059-D3D7116A0B73.jpeg
Label - doh! One of this year’s candles. Couple of baby cones. New roots leaving a cavern in the pot. Mmmmmycorrhizae.

Please feel free to post anything which you need identifying. I can only speak for myself in terms of willingness to assist, but people are generally pretty helpful round these here parts.

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
That pot has already done some service. I guess the label refers to the previous occupant. Some of my pots have had several different residents and have similar label history.
The short needles does and long growth does look like P. mugho but I think there may also be some short needle scots varieties? Both are single flush species that back bud readily so care is basically similar.

Woocash

Omono
Reaction score
That pot has already done some service. I guess the label refers to the previous occupant. Some of my pots have had several different residents and have similar label history.