The Pitch Pine Experiment

jeanluc83

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I figured I would try the most foolhardy thing I could and start pine trees from seed (I'm still a beginner so I don't know any better). To make things even more interesting I decided not to do Japanese black pine (like everyone else), but Pitch pine (Pinus rigida). I have seen very high quality collected pitch pine bonsai but, to my knowledge no one is starting them from seed. I think in many ways they are equal to or better than JBP they just need to be given the chance.

Before I get people telling me "don't bother with seeds it will take too long". I understand. I figure if I do everything correct and luck smiles down on me I might have something presentable in 10 to 80 years. I also think back to how many times I've read "I wish I had planted some seeds when I first started out".

The main references I used are the "Growing pine from seed" article in the "Pines" book, this post over at the Bonsai study group and various posts at bonsai tonight.

Seeds

I figured the best place to start with growing seedlings would be with to get some seeds. I could have collected seeds but purchasing them saved me some time and effort. The seeds I used came from DA Tree store. It was about $6 including shipping for 100 seeds. I figured that wasn't too bad.

Stratification

The card that came with the seeds recommended approximately 30 days of cold stratification. In mid February I soaking the seeds at room temperature for about 3 days. Any floaters were discarded. I then wrapped the seeds in a damp (not wet) paper towel, put them in a sandwich bag and placed them in the fridge.

Most books recommend damp sphagnum moss or sand for stratification but using paper towel is easer and cleaner.