The State of Shohin 2021 Discussion

Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
I'm still relatively new to the hobby, having been keeping trees for several years but only really beginning to work them in the past year or so.

I have realized that shohin is where my tastes trend. I like the larger trees, and I like looking at them, but shohin is where the heart is, I think.

That said, I've picked up on the fact that shohin hasn't historically been that popular. Add to that that I enjoy deciduous, which seems to have been in less favor than pines and junipers, and that adds another layer.

All that said, it seems that when shohin go for sale, they get snapped up fairly quickly if the price is in the right range. There seems to be a demand for them.

So - where does shohin sit in 2021? Has there been a shift in sentiment? Are there simply not enough shohin in the US for the demand / is it a matter of the nature of bonsai that it takes some years for the market to follow sentiment?

I have no idea! Just figured I'd start a thread for shohin chitchat, I guess.

JudyB

Queen of the Nuts
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Oh my, you've just started on a long path... I was you a number of years ago, and started with a couple shohin trees. Now that is the bulk of my collection. There is a lot of interest in shohin! Enough that there is a bi-yearly national show for them. Many many shows in Japan are for shohin trees. Good ones are hard to find, so that's why they get snapped up so fast. They are challenging trees, as you really need skills to get the leaf size to be appropriate to the small stature of the tree. Also good ones must also have good ramification just as in the larger trees, but you have to do it on a much smaller scale so it's even more difficult than making a good larger trees sometimes. I still love my large trees, and also my heart is really with the chuchin trees (that to me is the size that gets ignored) but shohin are addictive and so much fun.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B