Thermometers. Do you have one? Do you like it?

Hartinez

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I’m curious if anyone has a digital thermometer system they use and their opinions of its functionality and accuracy.
What say you??!!

Grovic

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I’m curious if anyone has a digital thermometer system they use and their opinions of its functionality and accuracy.
What say you??!!
Home depot has some cheap thermometers that work just fine, I have a version that is just 3" x4" recangle and I just placed it near the trees and use it as a reference to compare against what google tells me. But they also have a larger version that has a wire and a probe, those allow you to put the thermometer inside the house. Another good functionality is you could even measure the temperature of the soil by inserting it if you wanted.
As an electronics engineer I can tell you that thermometers are very easy and cheap to build and you get pretty good accuracy even if it is not "laboratory grade".

Grovic

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Home depot has some cheap thermometers that work just fine, I have a version that is just 3" x4" recangle and I just placed it near the trees and use it as a reference to compare against what google tells me. But they also have a larger version that has a wire and a probe, those allow you to put the thermometer inside the house. Another good functionality is you could even measure the temperature of the soil by inserting it if you wanted.
As an electronics engineer I can tell you that thermometers are very easy and cheap to build and you get pretty good accuracy even if it is not "laboratory grade".
I'm not saying that you should build one, but that you can trust the cheap ones you find at the hardware store.

Hartinez

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone