Thick trunk nursery mugo - reduction tips

Cosmos

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Beginner here.

I purchased this mugo yesterday. It is from Iseli, and the cultivar is "Sherwood compact".

After reading a lot on mugo pines on this forum, and especially the guide by Vance Wood, I will be repotting the tree in July and starting the reduction process, as nary a ray of sunlight has perced that canopy for years. Where do guys suggest to tackle branch selection? Cut every second branch, third branch, the weakest ones, the strongest ones? So far I've only cleaned the 2-3 half dead branches that were hitting the side of the container, and I have left a stub as recommended.

Attachments

• IMG_20180607_142209.jpg
    IMG_20180607_142209.jpg
    444 KB · Views: 158
  • IMG_20180607_142219.jpg
    IMG_20180607_142219.jpg
    269.3 KB · Views: 155
  • IMG_20180607_142425.jpg
    IMG_20180607_142425.jpg
    440.8 KB · Views: 152
  • IMG_20180607_142151.jpg
    IMG_20180607_142151.jpg
    317.6 KB · Views: 147
  • IMG_20180607_142233.jpg
    IMG_20180607_142233.jpg
    270.9 KB · Views: 151
  • IMG_20180607_142551.jpg
    IMG_20180607_142551.jpg
    244.4 KB · Views: 152
  • IMG_20180607_142614.jpg
    IMG_20180607_142614.jpg
    293.8 KB · Views: 197

Vance Wood

Lord Mugo
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5-6
The path towards failure starts with a plan. The first thing you are going to have to do is open the tree up and see what possibilities the tree offers you. I would help you to check out the two videos I posted about mops Mugos.

Potawatomi13

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
The Mugo Man is Vance Wood however one thing not mentioned is big knot of branches making reverse taper and general mess of this tree. Should ask before buying in some cases. This is common problem with Mugo Pines;).

jeanluc83

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
This is common problem with Mugo Pines;).