Thread grafting problem

karen82

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I'm pretty new to bonsai still and attempted my first thread graft on a trident maple earlier this year.
The graft seems very weak and I was wondering what I should do.
I think the weakness is because the grafted branch is at the bottom and heavily shaded by the rest of the tree which is a little bushy.
Would it be a good idea to partially defoliate or cut back the rest of the tree to force it to put a little more energy into the thread grafted branch?

Also the 2nd pic is about a week after the first, I think the crispy bits are from letting it dry out; it's in full sun and demands watering twice a day, it wilts dramatically if I'm a little late. I was hoping keeping it in full sun would help it grow more vigorously and heal the graft but not I'm not so sure.. would moving it to a partial shade location be better?
2018-6-23.JPG2018-7-5.JPG

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
I think the weakness is because the grafted branch is at the bottom and heavily shaded by the rest of the tree which is a little bushy.
Would it be a good idea to partially defoliate or cut back the rest of the tree
Yes, at least the stuff that is shading the thread.
Generally, it will get more sun if it is on the south side of the tree, but other stuff can negate that, like the south side of my house is a forest or my apartment has only a balcony that faces east. Western exposure is the most challenging for it because it is heated by the sun and the air is the hottest and driest in the afternoon. The same intensity of light happens in the east in the morning, but the humidity is the highest of the day.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
I'm pretty new to bonsai still and attempted my first thread graft on a trident maple earlier this year.
The graft seems very weak and I was wondering what I should do.