Thread Grafting ?

Godschick

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
Per someone’s suggestion, I’ve been thinking about thread grafting this little trident maple. I’ve never done this process before and was wondering if any of you guys had feedback on doing this on this particular tree, the best time, and even placement. Also, how long do these little whips/branches take to grow into the cambium? Thanks !

Attachments

• D7995412-2156-4B33-80EF-14EEA279592B.jpeg
    D7995412-2156-4B33-80EF-14EEA279592B.jpeg
    232.5 KB · Views: 86
  • E9A91F1F-DC05-48CF-ABEB-86AE5E2C03B2.jpeg
    E9A91F1F-DC05-48CF-ABEB-86AE5E2C03B2.jpeg
    233.8 KB · Views: 85

Godschick

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
Where were you thinking of grafting? You don’t have to thread graft, you could also approach graft on your tree depending on the location
Well I was looking for some ideas, but thinking of ways to increase the canopy, possibly on the right side where there’s a gap. I literally have never done this and was just seeing if it would be a good idea

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
In an effort to make this the best it could be, I'd aim to layer it about half way up the trunk.

Better Rootflare, you get your canopy filled, with the benefit of taper.

Unless you're thread grafting a new second segment of trunk to cut back to, it doesn't make much sense to thread graft a smaller branch below stronger ones, and you don't get the other benefits.

Sorce

Potawatomi13

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Roots already look decent, trunk has "some" taper. Why reinvent the wheel🤔? Based also on leaf size branching much closer to ground will make trunk largely invisible. "Perhaps" one branch about 33% down from big rt branch and about 33% around trunk from rt side toward front could be useful but not necessarily needed.

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Thread grafts are reliable but by no means a sure thing so be prepared for occasional failure.