Tips for my Ginkgo Bonsai

mrt

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hello,
this summer I got this Ginkgo tree I show in the attachments.
I would like to get some tips what I could do with it, as I am still in the beginner phase.....
What I like about the tree is that it has, for a Ginkgo, very very small leaves. I believe it is a special cultivar, but I don't know which one - but the leaves are indeed only about 1.5cm in diameter, so indeed very tiny.
I also like that the tree has a nice branch structure. Also, in the lower part, it has a really nice bark!
However, I don't like the big clump that has formed further up the trunk, and I am also not sure if I like the mess of roots that are on the surface.

Any recommendations what to do?
I was thinking about whether I should airlayer it, BUT as a beginner, I think I don't have enough experience and in my opinion, the risk failure is a bit too high.
Could it be possible to thicken the trunk somehow in the lower part?
Also, about the style, any recommendations how to prune?
I can also post more pictures.

Attachments

• 20221117_082425.jpg
    20221117_082425.jpg
    164 KB · Views: 121
  • 20221117_082429.jpg
    20221117_082429.jpg
    189 KB · Views: 119

Calnicky

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
please post your location in your profile so we know what to tell you about growing that tree in your climate.

I'm growing a literati ginkgo but the traditional ginkgo shape is "flame-style". Google it for pics.

Looks like maybe yours should go into the ground for a while to work on getting rid of that reverse taper. May not "unreverse" though.

Attachments

• Ginkgo-biloba-literati.jpg
    Ginkgo-biloba-literati.jpg
    60.4 KB · Views: 118

jandslegate

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Take it out of the pot and plant in the ground