TJ’s Continental Divide Stone

Colorado

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
This is my first attempt at suiseki. I collected this stone hiking on the Continental Divide. It reminds me of a snowy mountain. The moss spores almost give the image of a stand of aspens at the base of the mountain.

I had a lot of fun composing this piece, feeling inspired to do more in the future.

If you want to really geek out with me, all of the components of the composition are native/American. Colorado stone. The container is from DSV Pottery in Maine. Native mosses.

C8275D32-9CF2-476D-826D-59FD7C83D23E.jpeg

Critiques welcome!

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
This is my first attempt at suiseki. I collected this stone hiking on the Continental Divide. It reminds me of a snowy mountain. The moss spores almost give the image of a stand of aspens at the base of the mountain.

I had a lot of fun composing this piece, feeling inspired to do more in the future.

If you want to really geek out with me, all of the components of the composition are native/American. Colorado stone. The container is from DSV Pottery in Maine. Native mosses.

View attachment 403346

Critiques welcome!
It is a fabulous composition. The pot goes very well with the texture of the stone. Ideally the pot would be wider and shallower but that is in a perfect world. It just seems that the stone has no space to breath. Generally, maybe always, suiseki is a lone stone on a carved base. Your composition leans a bit toward Penjing ... ish. I think this is absolutely stunning and love that it is a rule breaker in a sense. I am planning some moss garden compositions with wood and/or stones as accessories to bonsai displays. I am making the pots this winter and will put them together towards winters end.

Eckhoffw

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4b
It could use some tiny figurines rock climbing.
jk. Very nice how big is the pot? 6” or so?

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone