To cut the the ficus or not, that is the question

Bahhbzilla

Seed
Reaction score
I am growing a budget bonsai as I am new to the grand realm of miniature trees. The branch in the photo shows where a previous lead branch, as I believe it to be called, was cut and diverged into two. I personally believe the transition to be jarring and kinda ugly but don't know if there is anything to be done. Would whittling it down or otherwise removing material help the transition, would cutting the entire thing off just before the transition point be best, or would letting it grow and solve itself be best? I know this may come down to personal preference to an extent but would like to seek the opinions of the more experienced, thank you.277682277683

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I dont think it looks that bad honestly.
If you let the extending branch grow, it should thicken that area until it matches the wider "trunk" area better.

If you cut it, the trunk wont get any bigger so if you want a thicker trunk, let it grow.

The only real issue about this tree that bothers me is the branches along the main trunk/branch all look like they are sticking straight up.
I would have put some wire on them before they got as big as they are and bent them down to give more spread to the branches along the main one.

amcoffeegirl

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Let it grow
Then wire more movement
It’s in a good spot

Bahhbzilla

Seed
Reaction score
I dont think it looks that bad honestly.
If you let the extending branch grow, it should thicken that area until it matches the wider "trunk" area better.

If you cut it, the trunk wont get any bigger so if you want a thicker trunk, let it grow.

The only real issue about this tree that bothers me is the branches along the main trunk/branch all look like they are sticking straight up.