Tokonoma in my garden

Toche

Mame
Reaction score
Hello Marco,

In general, the elements of a presentation have a meaning, if they don't, you have to make them have one.
For your stone, the ideal would have been if the plant could have been planted more towards the wider side.
Kind of like this.

Marco 3.jpg

I'm sorry for the poor quality virtual. 🤥

To answer your question, I have been doing bonsai since 1979 and I had the chance to learn bonsai from several Japanese, but it was Keizo Ando who taught me traditional bonsai, Kazari, Toriawase and Shin, Gyo, So. It was like a revelation for me. It is thanks to him that the art of presentation has been demystified.
I have been passionate about Tokonoma Kazari, Toriawase and Shin, Gyo, So for years.

Kazari is the art of presenting bonsai. This art takes up the very demanding notions of Japanese aesthetics. One of these notions is the placement of the elements.

Toriawase is the art of assembling and matching the different elements of a display such as the tree, the pot, the shelf (Shoku) and the grass (shitakusa). It is a work of assortment, combination, agreement, balance.
The two go together.

The Shin, Gyo, So is a classification of the different elements of a presentation.
It greatly facilitates the toriawase. It's so much easier when you understand the why of things. :)

Here is Master Ando and his wife in front of their house.

M Ando .jpg

Marco B

Mame
Reaction score
Wow Michel, it is almost a lesson in the Japanse language! Btw, the plant on the rock is a kokodama, so it's not stuck on the rock.
...I really like to learn much more about this all. I'm afraid you live is too far for me... Where do you live in Belgium, because you said you have a school? Whats the name of your school. Or else, can you recomment any books about this stuff.
I know a lot of people/names in the world of bonsai, why doesn't sound your name familiair to me? :)

Toche

Mame
Reaction score