Too late in the year to treat powdery mildew?

DrTolhur

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I've got a whole bench of Japanese maples, and several of them have contracted a powdery mildew infection. This is my first time dealing with it, and treatment seems simple enough (I'd probably just go the neem oil route), but I'm wondering if it's worth doing at this point in the year. Trees around here are starting to turn, so it's probably just a couple weeks before the infected trees drop their leaves anyway. I'm not sure if I'd be able to get rid of the mildew soon enough to make any difference to the trees at this point. Thoughts? Should I start spraying with neem oil, or just let it run its course for the rest of the season?

If it makes any difference, all of the infected trees are young and in very early development. A couple have what I'd deem a pretty heavy infection.

Deep Sea Diver

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Well, there is that nagging thought of treating it now …so your leaves can continue photo synthesizing at a higher level to help thicken your trunk, however incrementally.…

cheers
DSD sends

ShadyStump

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Powdery mildew is a constant issue here. I would recommend treating it immediately. It has the potential to damage any soft growth, not just the foliage, and if nothing else you'll reduce the amount of it that might survive winter on the trunk, branches and pot, reducing the chances and severity of infection next year.