Top Dressing for very hot , dry climate?

Alkhashab

Seed
Reaction score
Hi

I'm from Kuwait and we have a very hot and dry summer ! the temp can easily reach 52C 125F in June , July and August !!!

so I'm new to bonsai ,, since we don't have turface and akadama here so I will be mixing my soil of ( 3 parts potting soil + 1 part lava rock ) .. but i'm thinking of a good top dressing to keep the soil moist !!

what about the fine pine bark? as a top dressing? or the Repti Bark??

51Bnf%2BkTOnL.jpg

or

RB-8_ReptiBark.jpg

what do you guys think?

the sun here is very strong and i'll dry out the soil very very very quick !

Pine bark or Repti Bark?

thanks

milehigh_7

Mister 500,000
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hot
Personally, I would skip the potting soil altogether. If you can find pumice I like it better than lava. Either way I would use somewhere between 1:1 and 1:2 bark : lava. You need have afternoon shade and water 2-3x (even 4 on the hottest days).

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
My first thought it to cover the pot and soil with wet towels, maybe several layers. I doubt a simple top dressing will be enough.

Tree roots die when they are at temperatures above 45F and they are generally not growing when above 35F. You should get (at least one and maybe several) inexpensive meat thermometer probes. Stick them in among the roots and see what their temperature(s) actually are. Act accordingly given this data (i.e., water more frequently, adjust sun exposure, change the water holding cover, etc.).

zelk

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
My first thought it to cover the pot and soil with wet towels, maybe several layers. I doubt a simple top dressing will be enough.