Torulosa 'Hollywood' Juniper

Jeremy

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
This was one of my first trees 2 years ago which has sat around uninspired. As a newbie I was instantly attracted to this tree, but as I researched more I found there wasnt a great deal of pruning info and how to control the course growth.
I did a first styling about 8 months ago and its been slowly developing mature foliage. With a bit of jin work up top I was aiming for a bunjin style. I soon realised there was too much foliage on the tree and I wouldnt be able to thin it out convincingly.

I decided to work on the tree again today, the top branch had to go in order to give the tree a direction. Shari was added and will allow to heal for a few years before widening.
My biggest issue through all this is Im still unsure to the best way of pruning this species. Ive heard to grow extensions out and cut back, but the growth is very course...?

I can always graft Shimpaku onto it...

Photos from from May '12, December '13, and today

Attachments

• Hollywood Juniper.jpg
    Hollywood Juniper.jpg
    198.8 KB · Views: 242
  • 20131205_101440 (600x800).jpg
    20131205_101440 (600x800).jpg
    45.8 KB · Views: 236
  • DSC_0466 (1280x853).jpg
    DSC_0466 (1280x853).jpg
    127.6 KB · Views: 220
  • DSC_0467 (1280x853).jpg
    DSC_0467 (1280x853).jpg
    128.6 KB · Views: 242

cascade

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
Torulosa

The best format for this juniper is a larger tree. The green tuffs need to be wired up, like you would wire a pine. Like in other junipers the top ( apex area) is dominant. When planning out a tree, these two considerations can lead to good results.
For example a branch originating from the top and brought down will work better than a branch from the weaker area, unless you find old material with an established usable first branch.
A larger tree will be more in proportion with the tuffs.