Chris85

Sapling
Reaction score
Hi all,

I have a question that I cant seem to find an answer to online or in my books. I live in zone 6b and I am just getting into conifers. I currently have a small white pine and a cypress. Im not trying to bind them yet or anything. I just want them to be happy and healthy for a year or two.

So they came in their standard nursery potting soil. I was thinking about making some nice pond boxes for them to grow their roots/ trunk base (even though theyre excruciatingly slow growers) but Im stuck because Im not sure what kind of soil is best to repot them in for developing roots.

I know akadama is a go to for conifers once theyre in their proper planters and there are other substrates and mixes as well, but for my purposes am I even supposed to be using a substrate at this stage? Or should I be using actual soil? If so, is there something you can suggest? Im skeptical of simple potting soil for them.

And lastly, they will be getting full sun and Im considering how to best keep the soil/substrate damp while encouraging root health. So, pond boxes for conifers? y/n? Or right to a training pot?

Thank you in advance!!

A. Gorilla

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Bonsai soil is fine. It just has to meet the conditions of being coarse enough to drain and have air space, but fine enough to retain some moisture.

Think pumice and then see what is “close enough” based on local availability. Expect to do some sifting.

Chris85

Sapling
Reaction score
Bonsai soil is fine. It just has to meet the conditions of being coarse enough to drain and have air space, but fine enough to retain some moisture.

Think pumice and then see what is “close enough” based on local availability. Expect to do some sifting.

Thanks! I think Im going to just try akadama. From what Ive read it seems to be the closest ph to what conifers prefer.

Adair M

Pinus Envy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Equal parts akadama, lava, pumice.