Trident Maple Help

Tonsai

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Hi everyone, I’m pretty new to Bonsai and I signed up for a class novice with my local club. Got my second tree, first one died after taking a beginner course. Since I got it a few weeks ago the leaves have started to brown. Am I overwatering it? Changed the soil and potted it for the class.

Attachments

• IMG_3661.jpeg
    IMG_3661.jpeg
    261.4 KB · Views: 100
  • IMG_3662.jpeg
    IMG_3662.jpeg
    228.2 KB · Views: 84
  • IMG_3663.jpeg
    IMG_3663.jpeg
    217.1 KB · Views: 89
  • IMG_3664.jpeg
    IMG_3664.jpeg
    296.9 KB · Views: 106

Orion_metalhead

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Questions:

1. When was the repot done (when was the class)?
2. How much of the root ball was removed?
3. Was the tree in leaf at the time of the repot?
4. What has aftercare been like? Where is it positioned? How much sun?
5. How often are you watering and how well draining is the soil? What makes you think its being over watered?

Tridents are very tough, so I have no doubt this will get through with correct care now.

Tonsai

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Class was 3 weeks ago. No roots were removed we just cleaned off the old soil with water and chop sticks. The tree was in leaf when we repotted. It’s getting about 12 hours of sun. I was watering once-twice a day depending on heat. This last week the leaves have started turning so I’ve been checking the stick in the pot more and spreading out watering to every two days depending one the moisture on the stick. Only reason I think it might be over watering is because of other threads where the leaves were changing, again new to bonsai and this is my first Trident Maple.

Tieball

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a