Trident maple in ground

yanktonian

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Hello!

Longtime lurker, so fascinating to watch y'all do your thing. I'm a rookie tree killer and live east of Atlanta GA USA (zone 8a). I planted a trident maple many years ago not realizing how larger it would eventually become and since then my landscaping plans have changed. I'm going to remove the tree, but thought I'd ask about how to use it as bonsai instead.

My questions are:
- can I develop nabari by digging back soil from the trunk to expose it
- what time of year can I trunk chop to work on taper? I've seen early spring and late summer, but our growing season is long here.
- after the trunk chop how many years before I can dig it out and deal with the tap root.

It's about 20ft tall with a 6inch diameter trunk just below the surface and 4inch diameter 3inches above the surface.

Thanks for any advice.

Deep Sea Diver

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Greetings and Welcome Aboard BonsaiNut!

Looks like you’ve got a big project planned.

A 6” Trident trunk would be a really big start for your entry into bonsai.

There are a plenty good Trident folks on site, so I’ll do the basics and let them follow. Looks like a chop now to let it backbud and get some branches growing before digging and working the roots early next spring would be a good timeline. That may be late for your area.

Also you’ll need to get an idea of how tall you want the tree to ultimately be. The first cut is at about 1/3 of the final height.

A couple things you can do will help others respond further.

1. Post some images of the tree and the nebari are.
2. Double click your icon on top of the page and add both your location and USDA zone information there. I know you said it in your first post….yet… This will be on you icon for each of your responses on any post/thread made, so folks don’t have to hunt the data down.

cheers and looking forward to seeing your future posts.

chers
DSD sends

yanktonian