Trident Maple in Pot

bonsaimichaelb

Seedling
Reaction score
Hello I'm a newbie with no green thumb.
On a recommendation I purchased a Trident Maple for a small backyard. Placed it in a wine barrel, drilled 10 holes in the bottom and lined the barrel with plastic so the PH isn't thrown off (saw this on YouTube)
Did I stress out the tree? It was a little windy the past two days. The backyard gets a lot of sun. I'm in Northern California. The leaves look wilted and a bit crispy. I've watered it three days in a row since planting to make sure the soil was wet.
Did I miss anything else you need to know?

Attachments

• 20200409_170631.jpg
    20200409_170631.jpg
    208.1 KB · Views: 54
  • 20200413_191406.jpg
    20200413_191406.jpg
    69.8 KB · Views: 54
  • 20200411_162512.jpg
    20200411_162512.jpg
    390.8 KB · Views: 54
  • 20200411_154031.jpg
    20200411_154031.jpg
    321.9 KB · Views: 54

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
The trees in the pots look fine. I can't see evidence of wilted leaves on those. If just a couple of branches have sad leaves maybe those branches were damaged a bit in transport or handling. The tree was a bit too far in leaf for real repotting but I doubt you would have cut too many roots so it should be fine. I have even repotted trident maples with full leaves on. Sometimes all the remaining leaves will turn brown and drop but soon new ones grow.
It is also possible that the tree was grown in a shaded or protected location and the leaves are not sun hardy. Now that it is suddenly in full sun the original leaves cannot cope and will get sunburn but new leaves will grow that will be adapted to the new sun levels.
As long as the water can drain out of your barrel the tree should be fine. Trident maples are very hardy. Just water when the soil starts to get dry. Over watering can also kill trees.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Welcome to Crazy!