Trident maple prebonsai question

karen82

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I purchased this prebonsai trident a month ago. It had been ground grown and just dug up, I wrapped the roots up in damp newspaper and bagged them, and put it in an old refrigerator in the garage to wait out the coldest weather.

A few days ago, I decided it was warm enough to unwrap and pot it up, I'm still keeping it in the garage for a little shelter for the next few weeks or until it begins to wake up.

I'm still new to bonsai so my question really is pretty basic. This tree doesn't have much taper after the first 4 or 5 inches, so I plan to eventually airlayer off the top and chop the bottom fairly low, and I know I need to have it strong and healthy to do that. It has undergone a lot of stress - I know I need to let it grow and recover this year - or will it need longer?
Also, is there any way to encourage it to grow a low branch of some sort prior to chopping -just to make the chop a little easier on the tree?

3-15-18 (3).JPG3-15-18 (2).JPG

chansen

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Let it recover, but how long will just depend on the tree. Watch it. When it's strong, the growth will reflect that. Hard pruning will encourage lower buds to pop, but you can also prep a branch for a lower thread graft. Lots of info already here on thread grafting, but if I remember right, markyscott has a good amount of info on it in the Ebihara Maples thread.

markyscott

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
Let it recover, but how long will just depend on the tree. Watch it. When it's strong, the growth will reflect that. Hard pruning will encourage lower buds to pop, but you can also prep a branch for a lower thread graft. Lots of info already here on thread grafting, but if I remember right, markyscott has a good amount of info on it in the Ebihara Maples thread.

https://www.bonsainut.com/threads/grafting-101.26456/