Trident Maple (ROR Progression)

Pj86

Yamadori
Reaction score
I will be documenting my Trident Maple ROR progression.

tempImage21S1M8.jpg

I have been developing this ROR trident maple since 2016. When I obtained it it was a small 1-2 year old seedling. I had already gone to a stone and gravel store and hand selected 5 large red lava rocks for the purpose of using them in future ROR plantings. I wrapped the seedling with simple silicone pipe tape to the rock and then used a 5 gallon pot to grow it out. Each following year, the roots would be examined, adjusted and the tree would be potted up again. During the 2020 repot I felt the roots had grown to the proportions and movement that I had envisioned, so it was decided it would go to a training pot for the remainder of 2020.

This year it has been repotted in a custom bonsai pot and most likely will be in this pot for the foreseeable future. The next 5-6 years I will be building the canopy which hopefully will complement the roots and current movement.

Trident Maple Progression.png

HENDO

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4a
Very nice progression, cool roots - looking forward to seeing 2022!

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Good selection of tree for ROR. Much more believable than a straight trunk and it sits well on the stone so good lines right from pot through to apex.
Roots are developing well.

Good luck with developing the branching and new apex.

AlainK

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9A
The top still needs a lot of work but the roots spreading on the rock looks so good I've no doubt it will be a top shelf bonsai in a few years.
👍 👍 👍 👍 👍

jeef16

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I will be documenting my Trident Maple ROR progression.

View attachment 363144