Trident maple seed and jbp seeds

Jo53ph

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Hello there my name is joe and I am reaching out I planted a few flats of trident maple seeds and also Japanese black pine seeds back in the beginning of winter .now it beginning to be spring and I was wondering if I should have the seeds in full sun now ? This is my first year growing from seed so I appreciate the help .

Haines' Trees

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Hey Joe, welcome to the party!

I would answer your question with another question: when does the “growing season” start in your area? You’re in Ohio according to your profile, I’m in the burbs of chicago, so I’ve got a similar-ish climate to you. I know that April 10th has, on average, a 50% chance of falling within the growing season in my area. I plan on placing my seedlings outside on that day at the earliest, depending on what the forecast says around that time. If you catch a hard frost late in the year, it could mean the end of your seedlings. Are they outside at this moment, or do you have them inside under a grow light on a heat mat?

If they’re healthy indoors, I would say hold off. I’m not super familiar with Ohio weather, but if you reliably stay above 45 degrees at night you could probably put them in a full sun setting. Night time is what you have to consider more than day time right now.

Jo53ph

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Thank you also yes I would say we are very somewhat close to weather and temp I am up by the Michigan line so I’m maybe a little colder then you but to answer your question . No they are not inside .at the beginning of winter I soaked the seeds in hot water for 48 hrs then I planted them In 100 percent turface. Then I placed them outside under my benches so they could germinate during the winter . The days have been getting a warmer here and I just wasn’t sure if I should place them in the sun now or keep them under the bench till a later date .

Haines' Trees

Shohin