Trident & Shishio Improved Maples

dlquick

Seedling
Reaction score
Just picked up these two from Brent @ EvergreenGardenWorks. Should I do anything to these right away (pruning/shaping), or let them grow for a couple years. Neither have much movement in the trunks, and are about 3/8"-7/16" diameter at the base. I'd like to get these around 1-1/2-2" at the base. I have zero experience with maples.

Trident Maple (Acer Buergerianum)
IMG_0634.jpgIMG_0635.jpg

Shishio Improved (Acer Palmatum)
IMG_0631.jpgIMG_0632.jpg

Johnnyd

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
I just picked up a 5 of those chishio from Brent last February . I was inspired by Bjorn's recent maple clump seedling video. (Fun project! )
To thicken the trunks plant in the ground. Search some threads on ground growing. Trident grows much faster so don't let it grow in the ground too long or the roots get ugly. Good luck! Also while your at it plant a bunch if you have space.
Here is a pic of my chishio improved clump.

Attachments

• 20210311_121000.jpg
    20210311_121000.jpg
    187.1 KB · Views: 26

dlquick

Seedling
Reaction score
I just picked up a 5 of those chishio from Brent last February . I was inspired by Bjorn's recent maple clump seedling video. (Fun project! )
To thicken the trunks plant in the ground. Search some threads on ground growing. Trident grows much faster so don't let it grow in the ground too long or the roots get ugly. Good luck! Also while your at it plant a bunch if you have space.
I do not have the best soil in the location where I live. Could I repot in a 5gal nursery pot, and get the same results?

Johnnyd

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b