Trident Stump Starts

Jason

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Last year I got some new Trident stumps to work on. I needed something to do since lots of my collection is back in the ground (poor material that has to develop some character). I posted these on another thread but didn't want to hi-jack the thread. So I'll post a couple pics of each. I'm just getting started on each of them.

They were dug from a field last February. I named them just to differentiate them (not to sound ostentatious).

This would be a Western version of my "field of dreams". I got to spend an afternoon crawling around on my knees looking at stumps.

R. Knight.jpg

Last edited:

Jason

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Righty.jpgStumpy.jpgRumpy.jpg

The first one I named "righty" due to that perplexing right angle. The second I named "stumpy" because it was fat and I was feeling unimaginative. The third one is "rumpy" because it kinda had an ass on it.

Jason

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I was beyond gleeful to have these three stumps. All of them have very nice taper buried under the soil in the Anderson flats. I think we smashed tiles off two of them while they were dug. In the past I've been a bit overly aggressive with my stuff, so I let these guys sit and just grow over the entire last season. Since they lost a lot of roots when they were dug it seemed prudent. It killed me a little though, and I wanted to lay into them. Over the last year I had a chance to just study them. I noticed that despite they're nice shapes that two of them contained way more dead wood than I was hoping for. This wasn't ideal.

Jason

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
The right angle on righty also contained a "knuckle" at the elbow. It was one of them that contained way more dead wood than I wanted. I wasn't ready to stick it back in the ground to get rid of all the scars. I'm going to try to develop it scar tissue and all in the flat. This is what it became:

Righty.jpg