Trunk Thickening questions, specifically for indoor bonsai; Fukien and Brush Cherry

Lovatoj44

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6A
Greetings and salutations, to start off I must say I am very new to the art of Bonsai, I have been interested in the subject for years and over the course of those years I have tried to learn as much as possible before actually getting my hands dirty. That being said I have finally taken my first steps into the art form. I have purchased two small starter trees, approx 6" in height; a Fukien Tea and what I believe is an Australian Brush Cherry. Both trees are currently in 4" diameter pots with what appears to be a general potting soil. I have not attempted to look at the root ball, if one even exsists for these trees yet. I have no plans to start hacking at my new trees but I would like to get the trees in the correct medium as quickly as possible to begin the trunk thickening process. This is where I started to have some questions that I could not recall or seem to find the answer too on the internet or in the few books I actually own. My first question is should I wait until next spring to repot theses new trees into an appropriately sized pot? The second question would be should I immediately repot into a soil that is closer in composition to what one would see in a finished bonsai or should I continue and use a soil that is more like a common potting soil? Third, should I go with a Shohin size training pot or just a cheap circular style pot that I can purchase from a garden center, I don't think this would make much of a diffrence but I wanted to get the communities opinion?

bonsaibp

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a