Trying to identify cypress types

Dues12

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
Hello! I am new to Bonsai and recently purchased some pre-bonsai from a local nursery.
I was told the two trees I have are both Cypress, one of which is a Hinoki Cypress. The owner could not recall which one though.

I have looked online for the past couple days trying to figure out which is Hinoki and what the other might be.

When I look at Hinoki on tree sites, the characteristics seem to match up more with the shrub looking tree, but when I look at examples of bonsai Hinoki they seem to more closely resemble the single trunk tree I have...which seems to have a bulb flare at the base; I read that can happen to Hinoki and is not a good thing for bonsai (maybe I picked a bad one).

I would like to identify these so I can do specific research and come up with a plan for these two. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Pic 1: both trees
Pics 2-5: single trunk tree (4-5 trying to show the base bulb flare best I can)
Pics 6-7: shrub looking tree

Attachments

• 4F6259C6-C6CF-4680-94F6-34064C2177AA.jpeg
    4F6259C6-C6CF-4680-94F6-34064C2177AA.jpeg
    354.9 KB · Views: 31
  • 9AAF02D7-8AC7-416E-B1B3-3DC2BD712833.jpeg
    9AAF02D7-8AC7-416E-B1B3-3DC2BD712833.jpeg
    270.7 KB · Views: 36
  • 3C6BAD35-C39E-4F22-9188-E9CACF1E240E.jpeg
    3C6BAD35-C39E-4F22-9188-E9CACF1E240E.jpeg
    189.6 KB · Views: 30
  • 4D125A92-866A-4669-B82C-13F05C8EC69D.jpeg
    4D125A92-866A-4669-B82C-13F05C8EC69D.jpeg
    199.9 KB · Views: 28
  • 3BED76DA-D399-4116-8960-19D3E6B8305D.jpeg
    3BED76DA-D399-4116-8960-19D3E6B8305D.jpeg
    177 KB · Views: 25
  • 506A1936-57D4-41AC-8B22-27FB282FDB18.jpeg
    506A1936-57D4-41AC-8B22-27FB282FDB18.jpeg
    296.8 KB · Views: 22
  • 3799489D-255D-4DD7-AA53-EC91338B220D.jpeg
    3799489D-255D-4DD7-AA53-EC91338B220D.jpeg
    224.7 KB · Views: 37

AlainK

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9A