Tsuga Mertensiana ( Mountain Hemlock Yamadori)

wireme

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I'm not much of a woodsman. Maybe this indeed looks like a real tree.

I do love a good naturalistic thing, it’s my favourite but personally I don’t always care if I does look like a real tree as long as I like it. “Don’t make your bonsai look like a tree make your tree look like a bonsai” I read that somewhere sometime. Maybe got that backwards but anyways in moderation every now and then it’s alright I figure. Maybe it really does look like a tree like this though.. it’s got bark and needles and things.,
All fun and games till someone does cut branches off but I’ve never said I was an artist either so it’s still not my fault!0B22BE73-B640-4204-958E-5D9BE963EE93.jpeg9CF34B52-C08D-4B3C-8DB5-2DA91815C294.png

River's Edge

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
I do love a good naturalistic thing, it’s my favourite but personally I don’t always care if I does look like a real tree as long as I like it. “Don’t make your bonsai look like a tree make your tree look like a bonsai” I read that somewhere sometime. Maybe got that backwards but anyways in moderation every now and then it’s alright I figure. Maybe it really does look like a tree like this though.. it’s got bark and needles and things.,
All fun and games till someone does cut branches off but I’ve never said I was an artist either so it’s still not my fault!View attachment 179783View attachment 179784
Yup got that backwards, John Naka intended otherwise. To quote the authors words. " But most of all i want to thank my great silent teachers- the Sierra Nevada mountains, the Mohave Desert, the Monterey Coast, the Sequoia National Park here in California, and also the Rocky Mountains of Colorado, my birth place. They have offered a multitude of Bonsai models for me."
Taken from his forward to Volume II Bonsai Techniques.