Ugly Japanese Maple > Beautiful Bonsai

jodaworks

Seedling
Reaction score
Grabbed this ugly, unhealthy JM for $20 (usd) to challenge myself, push me out of my comfort zone. But I would love some advice because I'm new to JM. It's about 6ft tall, has multiple long vertical branches coming from the same areas, and every mature leaf is sun scorched. But it has a bunch of red baby leaves and healthy branches. Pretty obvious why the nursery didn't care for it much, but I'm thinking the weirdly exposed nebari, natural jin, and semi-cascade lower structure could be fun. So, advice?
(I'm in eastern North Carolina zone 8a)
● Should I just defoliate for healthier leaves and do nothing else until late winter, early spring?
● Should I go ahead and cut back these really tall shoots so that it's compact and less leggy for the winter?
● Any styling tips or references to beautiful maples that angle dramatically to the side?
● Could I air-layer those long shoots (now or wait until spring?)

Thanks so much!

Attachments

• 20220719_183911~2.jpg
    20220719_183911~2.jpg
    377.7 KB · Views: 210
  • 20220719_183956~2.jpg
    20220719_183956~2.jpg
    432.1 KB · Views: 207

19Mateo83

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b