Understanding the value of grafted trees

JackHammer

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Can someone please explain the pros and cons of grafted plants? I understand that they are easy to make but does the rootstock change the properties and value of the tree?
I got a corkbark JBP and it is a graft but the website of the company didn't specify that it was a graft. I thought I was purchasing a whole baby tree. I am not sure I want to put many years of work into a tree that isn't the real deal. I also have a concern that the root stock wouldn't have the same cork bark.
Maybe grafts don't impact the value of the tree and I shouldn't be concerned?

Tidal Bonsai

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I am not an expert, but some trees are commonly grafted and accepted in traditional bonsai and others are not. JWP and cork bark black pine are commonly grafted onto stronger JBP rootstock and are in that category. I have seen (on video) JWP that has not been grafted, but it’s very rare, and I have never seen a cork bark black pine on its own roots.

At the end of the day, if you enjoy the tree then it is worth it. There are thousands of better investments if you are looking for value appreciation over time. Bonsai is a hobby, and should be enjoyed as a hobby IMO.

JackHammer

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
I am not an expert, but some trees are commonly grafted and accepted in traditional bonsai and others are not. JWP and cork bark black pine are commonly grafted onto stronger JBP rootstock and are in that category. I have seen (on video) JWP that has not been grafted, but it’s very rare, and I have never seen a cork bark black pine on its own roots.

At the end of the day, if you enjoy the tree then it is worth it. There are thousands of better investments if you are looking for value appreciation over time. Bonsai is a hobby, and should be enjoyed as a hobby IMO.