Unwanted Guests

loudpedal

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
First of all, I should mention that I am a long time lurker first time poster.

I have been torturing bonsai for a couple of years now with pretty good dumb luck. Some trees might disagree with me but they can't type.

Problem is, I have a Ficus Retusa that had been pretty happy until late spring when it was attacked by spider mites. I since have gotten rid of the spider mites it took awhile for the tree to come back from that battle. Now that it is looking better I've discovered little bright white bugs that scurry around the base of the trunk. They don't match the description of anything that I have read about. I tried Neem oil with no obvious success. Lately I have been shooting the critters with Sevin. It seems to work for awhile but they keep coming back for more. Hopefully I've segregated the tree from it's little friends in time, but I will watch them closely.

My questions are what are they, and is Sevin too harsh for little trees?

loudpedal

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
These guys are small there is no way I could get a picture of them. I mean a large ant could crush them.

GGB

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Definitely don't use sevin. It doesn't kill mites and it's hella brutal, especially for in indoor tree. watered down dish soap sprayed on the tree will kill them. Or if you're jonesing to spend money get neem oil. Or if you're feeling super lazy just spray it down with water daily. I have been dealing with mites since I moved, they come on quick when I don't do daily mistings

loudpedal

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Thanks GGB.
I just had the feeling that Sevin might be too brutal, but I wanted to let them know that I was really mad. I'm going back to the Neem Oil and mist. Is it ok to spray oil all over the soil, and trunk?

leatherback

The Treedeemer
Reaction score
USDA Zone