Using redwood sorrel with my Coastal Redwood pre-bonsai trees

nichieagle0000

Seedling
Reaction score
Hello,
I am pretty new to bonsai, and I am working with some young Coastal Redwood trees I harvested from the wild in November. I have this question: is it safe to introduce redwood sorrel for aesthetics and as ground cover that occurs naturally in their habitat? If not, could you please explain why? I read that redwood sorrel can become invasive, but in this case it will be confined to the pot, so this should not be an issue. Could it compete for nutrients with my establishing Redwood trees? Thank you in advance for any insight.

R0b

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hello,
I am pretty new to bonsai, and I am working with some young Coastal Redwood trees I harvested from the wild in November. I have this question: is it safe to introduce redwood sorrel for aesthetics and as ground cover that occurs naturally in their habitat? If not, could you please explain why? I read that redwood sorrel can become invasive, but in this case it will be confined to the pot, so this should not be an issue. Could it compete for nutrients with my establishing Redwood trees? Thank you in advance for any insight.
As it is a rhizome developing species I would say no. Some plants are possible to combine but the more aggressive their growth the more competition they will cause. A larger / deeper pot will lessen this effect but I prefers moss. i have tried to combine plants as well but started eradication.

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
No. Oxalis are known to launch their seeds everywhere and they're generally considered a pest plant because they're so difficult to get rid of. Within a year they'll pop up everywhere and their root systems dive deep, so deep that they are competing with bonsai for soil space.