Venturing into the world of bonsai stand

Cajunrider

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9A
I have been a woodworker for years but stayed mostly on the rough stuff. I’ve built houses and a 50ft shrimp boat. I am now venturing into the world of fine woodworking. I am thinking about building bonsai stands but know little about the designs and common dimensions. I’ve reviewed a lot of threads here and found inspiration but not much info. I've looked at stands being sold online and get their dimensions but surely there would be that information some where for recommended size for each size bonsai size. Where can I find them?

Just to show my level of skills. Here is a game card collector’s box for my son from the salvaged lumber of my broken house. Sides and top are jatoba from the stair treads. Bottom and dividers are maple from the kitchen cabinets. The splices are American white ash from the window sill for contrast. The wood looks so good I decided to just use linseed oil to preserve. No stain was used.

The box is roughly 11”x19” for the golden ratio. The height is 5” to accommodate the cards.

The request was for elegant and clean ortho lines with no ornate curves or decoration.
E8E85EE3-0E78-4542-A78B-CD8732EE3353.jpegC81272D3-7E15-4BD6-9695-AE22BEA15A26.jpeg
5CF0D78B-E928-4DEC-A124-AE4D65962A1E.jpeg

Last edited:

Hartinez

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I have. They are inspiring but I'm looking for specification such as what the dimension of a stand should roughly be if I'm making a stand for a certain size of bonsai.