Very confused wrt Peter Adams's 'Bonsai w/Japanese Maples'

caerolle

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Posting this in parts as publishing it keeps crashing, sorry... [EDIT] I consolidated your posts for you - BNut [/EDIT]

I am new to bonsai and want to grow some Japanese maples. I heard that Adams's book was a great resource for this, and was hoping for some step-by-step instructions (sadly in-person instruction is pretty limited where I live). I have read through it a few times, but today tried to deeply understand a section on trunk development and found it extremely confusing. I am hoping for some guidance from someone who has and understands this book, or just guidance period along the lines of what I want to do. :)

I am trying to follow the 'Development in Boxes: Slimmer Trunks but with Character' section (page 39). My confusion starts right in Year One, where he says use 4-5 yo maple and prune it adjacent to a pair of buds or twigs, removing 2/3 of the trunk, while the accompanying figure seems to show a whole tree and says Year one—the tree is established in a box. Then, Year Two, he says In late winter choose the shoots that will form the new trunk line and the first branch and Choose the length of the new trunk line to create the *step one* movement in the future trunk and then says to mark the location of the cuts for pruning the following year. In the previous Development in Boxes section, he called the first cut (of the trunk) Step One, and the first new leader Step Two. And again, the accompanying figure for marking the tree seems to show a whole tree, and no trunk cut.