Very Few Leaves

CrisisQuaid

Seedling
Reaction score
Hey there! A few months ago I got myself nice little Chinese Elm. As a rookie I made the mistake of assuming the soil it came in would be sufficient. The soil eventually became quite hard and the tree lost most of its leaves. I repotted it in a better pot, and some Akadma bonsai soil. Now it’s been probably about 2 months, and the tree has regrown some of its leaves, but it still looks quite bare. I was wondering if this is normal, and if not what are some factors I could check to help promote more leaf growth in my tree. Please go easy on me, I’m learning as fast as I can and I hope I haven’t embarrassed myself too much.

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Is it inside or out? Can't help without knowing you climate. Where are you? Post it in your profile so you can get appropriate advice.

CrisisQuaid

Seedling
Reaction score
Is it inside or out? Can't help without knowing you climate. Where are you? Post it in your profile so you can get appropriate advice.
Forgot to mention that the tree is kept indoors with a grow light. I’ve attached a photo of my tree. I’m working on getting the tree in good health before I focus on any kind of styling.

Attachments

• 26D65455-82A4-4C06-AF66-07E9762B08B5.jpeg
    26D65455-82A4-4C06-AF66-07E9762B08B5.jpeg
    236.9 KB · Views: 51

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
If you are going to try to keep it inside I can just say good luck. I haven't been able to yet I find them indestructible out side in my area. Obviously I can't speak to you about yours as it is a secret.
Good Luck.

CrisisQuaid

Seedling
Reaction score
If you are going to try to keep it inside I can just say good luck. I haven't been able to yet I find them indestructible out side in my area. Obviously I can't speak to you about yours as it is a secret.
Good Luck.
I’m located in Cumming, Georgia.

leatherback

The Treedeemer
Reaction score
USDA Zone