Virginiana grey owl

Adele

Seedling
Reaction score
Greetings ladies and gentlemen

I would like to ask comments on this juniper of mine, it took me 5 hours to style it like this. I am a newbie, yes, and had help with the thick wiring, as my hands are not strong enough.
Thank you in advance
Adele

It is about 88cm tall
9cm trunk diameter

Pre styling:
before styling.jpg

Final result:
final result.jpg

Close-up from front:
from front.jpg

Close up from back:
from back.jpg

close-up from right:
from right.jpg

Vance Wood

Lord Mugo
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5-6
For someone who says that their hands are not too strong you seem to have been able to manipulate the wire very well indeed. The wiring is very good, better than I have seen from someone who may have been doing bonsai for some time.

The styling of the tree is very good. One might make some criticisms on branch placement but personally I like what you have done a great deal. I think you have made a really fine little literati bonsai, not an easy thing by the way, you have a good eye and a good grasp on three dimensional thinking as far as styling is concerned. Keep doing trees, you can only get better and I look forward to seeing more from you.

Tona

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I agree with Vance. Your wiring is very good for a newbie. I am a fan of the literati style and you have a nice start there. Keep up the good work!
Tona

Vance Wood

Lord Mugo
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5-6
OK-----you're a hero today, what are you going to show us tomorrow? Just kidding, but please start another bonsai, and another, and another.

KennedyMarx

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Seems like you have a good eye for bonsai design. How long have you been doing bonsai? Did you style this one by yourself?

Vance Wood

Lord Mugo
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5-6
Seems like you have a good eye for bonsai design. How long have you been doing bonsai? Did you style this one by yourself?