Volunteer of unknown variety

PowerTap

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
So in my front garden I have a volunteer, that appears to be a mapel, but I don't know which kind.

My plant ID says Sugar Mapel. But I'd appreciate a more practiced eye. As well as thoughts about if I should pull it as a weed, or dig it up and put it in a pot.
PXL_20220930_154407796.jpgPXL_20220930_154358763.MP.jpg

Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Possibly Acer Pseudoplatanus (I don’t know where you are but it’s what we in the uk call a Sycamore) - I’m no expert and just guessing on leaf size/shape.

They don’t typically make good bonsai due to the long petioles and limited leaf reduction, however, if you’re just starting out then it’s great to hone your horticultural skills. Anything can be a bonsai - especially if you get into Penjing and literati style stuff!

Ininaatigoons

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
Definitely an Acer Saccharum (Sugar Maple) and your probably going to have to go big. From what I heard the leaves reduce, but not incredibly. I have a 'Sweet Shadow' that is in the growing out stage like almost all my trees. Anyways keep it in the ground at least until spring and cut the tap root in spring. Then plant back in the ground if you can or second option a large training box. With maples you want to grow and chop and a Sugar Maple you'll want to take your time. Fall colors are hard to beat! I say it's definitely worth a go especially if you have the room. They grow fast, but that will equalize by the larger size it will need to be. I plan the ultimate size for mine to be at least 3' maybe bigger. I am years from the first chop though.

Last edited:

rodeolthr

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Don't forget that acer macrophyllum is native here, grows all over the city and county, and routinely pops up in gardens.

PowerTap

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a